Lessons Learned!

What is most important to you when using software like ours?

This isn’t a trick question. The answer is YOUR DATA, right?

Your data is your life line. It keeps you up-to-date on Birthdays, Anniversaries (better remember), contacts and your business meetings and appointments. If something happens to that computer, the hard drive fails, or the computer just quits (and at some point it this happens to all of us!), without a backup, our tech support department will be very sympathetic, but unable to offer any assistance.

Backups are easy and quick to make. With a backup, your data is SAFE! It’s a basic insurance policy against all the things that can and will go wrong and it costs you nothing but a little effort.

All of our software programs provide a back up option posted under the FILE ORB or File menu at the top left of the screen. Use this option and your data is safe either on your hard drive or an external drive since you can use a flash drive or memory stick you can store separate from the computer so you know the removable drive will not be affected if the pc goes south. Losing thousands of entries in your software is a punch in the gut and you never want to be in a position where you would have to retype all of that data manually.

It is worth mentioning that our Chaos Data Hosting is a great add-on option in addition to backing up, because, a copy of your data will reside off-site from your, on our servers. ChaosHost.com also gives you an online version of our software to use if you are without a computer for a while due to repairs or replacements.

Please take advantage of the backup options we have in our software and protect your life line, so you don’t have learn this the hard way and have a no-good, horrible, bad day!

Moving Back and Forth… and Back

We do have a small number of users who try Intellect 4 for a period of time and then move back to the old Intellect 3 only to again install Intellect 4 at a later date.  What these users encounter is data that existed when they first tried Intellect 4, not the up to date data when they installed Intellect 4 for a second time.

Basically, the data exists as it did when you first converted the information from Intellect 3 to Intellect 4. When you first upgraded, the data was converted up to the newer format. What you are seeing is still that same old converted data.

To address the issue, we need to delete the files that store the newer format data so the old data is reconverted up to the newer format. First create a current backup of all your version 3 data. I would then recommend uninstalling Intellect 3 so it is no longer used in the future.

Then browse to your data directory or, if you are not familiar with this location, within Intellect 4, click on Help, choose Information About My Data, and then simply double click on the path by “Data Home”. Just be sure to close Intellect after doing so.

In the data folders, delete the files beginning with Contacts, the files beginning with Calendar, and also Tasks and Project files as well. Do not delete any file beginning with a ~. The ~ files are your Intellect 3 data and the files we are deleting are your Intellect 4 data. There should be at least three Calendar, Contacts, Tasks, and Projects files each.

Then double click on the Mail folder to enter the mail directory. There, delete the “Mail Cache” and “Mail Address Cache” files. There should be at least three of each of these files as well.

Once all files have been removed, restart Intellect 4. It will take longer to start as the old data is converted up to the new format. Let that process complete without trying to run Intellect 4 again or stop the process midway. It may take some time. Once it finished, all of your current Intellect 3 data should be converted up to Intellect 4.

Name versus Last, First and Company

Our new generation of contact management programs, Intellect 4 and Time & Chaos 8, have a new Name field which provides a consistent list of your contacts everywhere in the program, formatted just like you like it.

The Name field is automatically generated using a combination of Lastname, Firstname and/or Company.  You get to choose how you want this field to appear and your choice will affect this Name column on our main screen, along with everywhere else you find a list of your contacts, such as when you pick Linked Contacts for Appointments, Tasks, Project, or even other Contacts.  For Intellect users, the name choice will also be used when you type-ahead to fill out the TO: email address field.

To set your Name Style preference, go to Options, then under Contact Management, select Contacts. The Name Style field on the top right will provide a dropdown with every possible combination for you to pick from. Save your choice here and you will see it instantly back on the main screen.

Keep in mind that if and when you want to look for contacts by something other than what you specified in the Name field, you don’t need to go back to the program options to change the Name style. The main screen offers your choice of columns when displaying the list of contacts and you can click on any of the other column heading to resort the list by that field instead of the name field.

Our Chaos University has a video guide explaining how and why to use this new Name column and how it compares in use with the Lastname and Company columns of the previous generation: [flowplayer src=’http://www.chaossoftware.com/university/intellect4/Intellect601-Name_vs_Last_First_Company.mp4′ autoplay=false buffering=true]

Multiple data sources with iPhone and iPad

Our ChaosHost cloud service is a popular and easy way to load your Chaos data onto your iPhone or iPad. Setting up over-the-air synchronization makes our contacts and calendar data available in the built-in Contacts and Calendar apps on your device.

However, if you also use other sources of contact or calendar data, such as iCloud or Google or other company Exchange servers, the data from all of these sources get mixed together unless you know how to filter unwanted things out.

iphone filter contacts or calendar by source

When you are looking at the Contacts or Calendar applications on your iPhone or iPad, there is a button at the top left corner that allows you to filter your data to only the source or sources you want. For Contacts, the button says Groups. For Calendars, this button says Calendars. Tap it, and you’ll be presented with a screen where you can choose between all your data sources to show only the data that comes from or syncs with ChaosHost.

Filtering to show only ChaosHost is useful when you add new items to your Contacts or Calendar as well because it makes it very clear to your device that you want the new entry sent to ChaosHost. Without filtering first, your device might not understand you want this item sent to ChaosHost and it could add it to one of your other sources instead.