Synchronizing with ChaosHost.com after our recent security upgrades

We update our servers regularly to keep them secure, but there are updates and then there are updates, if you know what I mean.

As part of our most recent round of changes and security updates for our ChaosHost.com cloud service and web site at www.chaoshost.com, some old security protocols and ciphers that are no longer considered secure have been disabled. I think this is a good thing, because you have an expectation of good security, after all, when you enable SSL.

Unfortunately, this also means that many of our older versions of our Windows programs won’t be able to sync any longer with ChaosHost when you have the SSL option enabled in the sync settings, as they lack the newer security that is required (and that our current versions can offer). Affected programs would include Time & Chaos 5, 6, 7 and 8, Intellect 3 and 4, and Legal Billing 7.

While many of our users have moved to our current versions and are unaffected, we realize there are still users who haven’t yet updated.

If you have one of these affected programs, you could disable SSL and still sync, but that would obviously not be recommended given the lack of security that would offer your data in transit.

If you choose to install a newer version, you can always find our current releases by going to www.chaossoftware.com then clicking Products and Downloads at the top.

Does the newer version cost anything?

The upgrade to the current version of one of our products would be free if you made your purchase of the prior version within the last two years. Otherwise, we’d ask you to purchase a discounted new license as an upgrading user on our web site. When you go to the Purchase link at the top of www.chaossoftware.com , you’ll find Upgrading User is one of the options there, where you can enter your prior registration information to qualify.

Anything special to keep in mind about changing versions?

If you were previously using Time & Chaos 8, Intellect 4 or Legal Billing 7, there should not be much more to getting the synchronize process working again than installing and using version 10 instead.

If you were previously using Time & Chaos 5, 6, or 7 or Intellect 3, the move to version 10 will be more involved as the modern versions do use different data files than the old version used. If you’ve never run a newer version before now, the update to your data files will happen automatically when you install the newer version.

However, given how much time has passed, it seems likely that someone has previously installed a newer version at some point before you decided to go back to what was more familiar. If that was the case, when you install and run the newer version, you may see older data from that earlier false step rather than the current data you expect.

If you don’t see the current data in the newer version once it is installed, you can ask our support department for assistance so they can tell you what you can do to force a fresh transfer of data from the old databases to the new ones.

You also need to update the software for everyone who was using Time & Chaos 5, 6 or 7 or Intellect 3. Since the older versions used different data files, you can’t leave anyone on the team behind once you’ve made the move to our current software.

A New ChaosHost Experience

As many of our regular users have already seen, www.ChaosHost.com has been significantly updated over the last couple of weeks.  Many of these changes guide ChaosHost toward an interface similar to the local installations of our latest releases of Time & screenshot-classicChaos or Intellect.

One of the most requested recent changes is the ability to scroll through your longer lists of Contacts, Appointments, and other data with more than just the scroll bar.  Our new look has also enabled your mouse scroll wheel to roll up and down the list.  In addition, once you have clicked on a row, you can use your keyboard arrow keys to quickly move up and down these lists as well.

Here are some of the more significant updates to ChaosHost.com:

  • iPad users will no longer be sent to the mobile interface automatically and will instead be greeted with the full ChaosHost.com interface which now works great through a desktop or tablet based browser.
  • The Name column has been added to the Contact views.  What appears in this name column (e.g. Last Name, First Name, Company) can be modified by clicking on Options and setting the Name Style preference.
  • All record entry and edit screens have been revamped with tablet friendly features including a proper Group edit field, improved date pickers, and updated sliders and spinners.
  • For users with a larger set of Contacts, you can now choose a default Group filter.  Under Options, you can set a default Group for Contacts specifically.  Once set, when you log in to www.chaoshost.com,the Contact area will be automatically filtered to only show that specific Group.

There are still more changes planned for the near future, so keep checking back here on the blog for updates!